Warning: session_start(): open(/var/lib/php5/sess_3edfv05ls1m143ap5kr9tmo3d6, O_RDWR) failed: Permission denied (13) in /var/www/xTools2.5/library/cms_generator.php on line 207 Horse Of The Year :: News


Lisa Crowned Lady Rider of the Year

Back to Article Search


CAPTION: Lisa Cubitt (Cambridge) and Bates Amaretto MVNZ win the Ultra.Mox Lady Rider of the Year crown. Photo: Sarah Alderman/KAMPIC


Lisa Crowned Lady Rider of the Year


Lisa Cubitt can finally add one of New Zealand's most sought-after showjumping trophies to her cabinet with victory in the Ultra.Mox Lady Rider of the Year class at the Farmlands Horse of the Year Show in Hastings.

The 29-year-old from Cambridge has come oh-so-close to securing the Merrylegs Trophy before – like the time Forrest II ducked out at the last, and the other time when she had the first fence in the jump-off down but the fastest time, and then there was the time she had the last fence . . . but all that was ancient history today when she blitzed the 42-strong field to take the win.

“I am so happy,” said Cubitt. “It has been a long time in the making.”

Twenty-six of the original starters – with eight and less faults – came back for the second round, with 11 sitting on zero faults. In the second round, five still had clean slates – Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) on Biarritz, Rose Alfeld (Canterbury) on My Super Nova, Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) on Dunstan Springfield, Melody Matheson (Hastings) on Roulette MH and Cubitt.

The Gerrit Beker (Tauranga) designed course rode beautifully – technical and challenging enough to bring the best out of the best female riders in the country.

Cubitt and Bates Amaretto MVNZ, who was bred by Seattle Lodge (Cambridge), were the last to go in the jump-off. Ahead of them, Morrison was the only one to go clear, stopping the clock at 40.83 seconds.

“I had nothing to lose,” says Cubitt. “My goal for the show was to win a prize in the main arena, and I knew I had that and was pleased. It is the icing on the cake – it is such an incredible class to win. It is prestigious, and there is just something about the lady rider . . . it is one you want to win so badly.”

She has had her horse – Beetle – since he was two and they've been through their ups and downs.

“We have been through everything together, but he came here feeling good.”

Beetle may start in Saturday's Premier Stakes, but Cubitt says she may just give him a pat and let him rest.

“He's done his job.”

In the dressage, Australian visitor Jeremy Janjic and Django of Cacharel won the FMG CDN FEI Intermediate II class with 67.737% ahead of William Millar (Cambridge) on Raukura Satori with 64.421% in second and Jody Hartstone (Raglan) on Ali Baba.

In the eventing competition, top Kiwi rider Jock Paget, who has flown in from the United Kingdom to compete at the show, is sitting in second spot in the Land Rover CIC3* aboard Henton After Dark. The class is being led by Mathew Grayling (Taranaki) and NRM Lowenberg on 42.3. The showjumping phase is being held tomorrow, followed by what promises to be a cracking cross country on Saturday.

In the Hansen Products CIC2*, Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) leads the field with his bronze medal winning World Champs team horse Orient Express, who has come out of retirement.



Results -


Showjumping, Ultra.Mox Lady Rider of the Year: Lisa Cubitt (Cambridge) Bates Amaretto MVNZ 1, Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) Biarritz 2, Rose Alfeld (Canterbury) My Super Nova 3, Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Springfield 4, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Roulette MH 5, Lucy Akers (Opiki) Tinapai 6.


GJ Gardner Homes Pro Amateur Rider of the Year: Brooke Zander (Waipukurau) Double J Rumours 1, Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Burberry 2, Mathew Dickey (Taranaki) Quango 3, Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Zara 4, John Cottle (Auckland) LT Eloquence 5, Megan Lindermann-Cohen (Clevedon) LC Sissi Imperatrice 6.


Eventing, Land Rover CIC3* (after the dressage): Mathew Grayling (Taranaki) NRM Lowenberg 42.3 penalty points 1, Jock Paget (UK) Henton After Dark 43.8 2, Emily Cammock (Canterbury) Dambala and Emily Cammock (Canterbury) Shaw Lee 47.6 =3.


Hansen Products CIC2* (after the dressage): Clarke Johnstone (Matangi) Orient Express 39.5 1, Amanda Pottinger (Wairarapa) Just Kidding 40.6 2, Dannie Lodder (Auckland) Moochi 43.4 3.


Dressage, FMG CDN FEI Intermediate II: Jeremy Janjic (Australia) Django of Cacharel 1, William Millar (Cambridge) Raukura Satori 2, Jody Hartstone (Raglan) Ali Baba 3.


Prydes EasiFeed FEI Prix St Georges: Holly Buckman (Taupiri) Devils Chocolate 1, Penny Castle (Ashhurst) BL About Time 2, Gregory Smith (Auckland) JL Champs Elysee 3, Sophie de Clifford (Opiki) Ashbury Dolly 4, Vaughan Cooper (Hunterville) Kiteroa Leila 5, Christine Weal (Te Awamutu) Teodoro 6.


NZ Horse & Pony Magazine Level 4 (title): Melissa Parkes (Marlborough) Zeilinger 1, Aliesha Moroney (Hamilton) Sinderella FE 2, Toni Louisson (Feilding) Snapshot FE 3, Caitlin Benzie (Auckland) Le Connoisseur 4, Nikita Osborne (Kerikeri) Dona Frederica Welfare 5, Charmian Pearson White (Auckland) Wimborne Conniston 6.






Warning: Unknown: open(/var/lib/php5/sess_3edfv05ls1m143ap5kr9tmo3d6, O_RDWR) failed: Permission denied (13) in Unknown on line 0 Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/var/lib/php5) in Unknown on line 0