Rocking to victory

Article Index
Horse Of The Year

By Virginia Caro

Overnight leader Annabel Wigley (Amberley) on NRM Frog Rock took out the Rush Munro’s CIC3* eventing title at the HOY Show in Hastings, despite dropping a rail in Sunday’s showjumping phase, to finish on a score of 57.3 penalties. Less than four points, the cost of dropping a rail, separated the top four combinations after the cross-country, but there were only two clear rounds amongst the fifteen who came through to showjump, and they were further down the order.

Donna Smith (Waerenga), who had three horses in the class, was second on Henton Executive, also with a rail down, pulling up from fifth overnight to finish on 63.7, while third placed Abby Lawrence and Pseudonym retained their position despite two rails down, for a final score of 64.4. Smith was fourth on the dressage leader, Balmoral Sensation, also with a rail down, finishing on 65.3. Sadly for Simon Gordon (Auckland), who was second after Saturday’s cross-country on, the horse failed the veterinary inspection on Sunday morning.

A revised Trans-Tasman squad of seven combinations was named following the presentation, with the team of four to contest the Trans-Tasman Trophy at Kihikihi at Easter weekend named immediately prior to the competition.

Results: Rush Munro's CIC3*: Annabel Wigley (Amberley) NRM Frog Rock, 57.3, 1; Donna Smith (Te Kauwhata) Henton Executive, 63.7, 2; Abby Lawrence (Te Puke) Pseudonym, 64.4, 3; Smith (Te Kauwhata) Balmoral Sensation, 65.3, 4; Juliet Wood (Whangarei) Bold Trader, 68.2, 5 Show Circuit CIC2*: Virginia Thompson (Auckland) Ashbury Pee Cee, 51.1, 1; Samantha Felton (Hamilton) Ricker Ridge Pico Boo, 57.4, 2; Jessica Woods (Ohaupo) Too Predictable, 59.8, 3; Smith (Te Kauwhata) Balmoral Tangolooma, 60.7, 4; Lauren Currie (Wainuiomata) Wishful Thinking, 61.5, 5; Sophie Wilkinson (Helensville) Turbulance, 63.3, 6, Campbell Draper (Putaruru) Kahurangi Manu, 65.5, 7 PGG Wrightson Novice: Sarah Dalziell (Masterton) Benrose Super Star, 33.8, 1; Draper (Putaruru) Mr Mancini, 35.7, 2; Natasha Edwards (Featherston) Runner Bean, 37.7, 3; Kate Wood (Whangarei) Drakkar, 37.9, 4; Nick Brooks (Cambridge) Thriller II, 41.3, 5; Helen Bruce (Palmerston North) Henry II, 44.4, 6 Fiber Fresh Young Rider: Tayla Mason, Just Joop, 39.8, 1; Georgia Dufty (Rotorua) Charlton Tabloid, 41.2, 2; Olivia Ogle (Levin) Pin M Down, 42.3, 3; Woods (Ohaupo) Defies Logic, 43.6, 4; Felton (Hamilton) Ricker Ridge Escada, 45.4, 5; Sarah Young (Tokoroa) Oakley Vision, 47.4, 6 Trans-Tasman Squad: Simon Gordon (Auckland), and Simply Mitch; Christen Hayde (Pukekohe), Tandarra Sweet As; Brent Jury (Rangiora), SE Big; Abby Lawrence (Te Puke), Pseudonym; Donna Smith (Te Kauwhata), Henton Executive; Joe Waldron (Australia), Springvale All Black; Annabel Wigley (Amberley), NRM Enzo and NRM Frog Rock.